Final call to win recognition for the best-in-class engineering, science and technology innovations of 2017

With just over a week left to enter, the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) is issuing a final call for entries for its 2017 Innovation Awards, which recognise the most groundbreaking new engineering, science and technology ideas from around the world.

The awards provide a unique platform for budding and established engineering inventors to gain increased and invaluable exposure for their work on a global stage.

All shortlisted and winning entries are promoted to the IET’s 168,000 members across the globe.

Any individual, company or organisation with an innovative idea or product is eligible to enter across any one or several of the 15 industry categories, from energy and sustainability to transport and healthcare. Entries are free of charge.

Professor Jeremy Watson, IET President, said: “Our Innovation Awards put the achievements of the incredible inventors who work in engineering and technology around the world into the spotlight and play a critical role in helping them further their endeavors.

“Innovation is an essential cornerstone for the growth of the global economy and raising the standard of living in all communities. It is a key differentiator that makes companies and projects successful and, in keeping with the IET’s mission to inspire excellence in engineering and technology, we now invite applications to find the best innovations from across the world.”

The full list of categories for 2017 is as follows:

·       Communications

·       Cyber Security

·       Emerging Technology Design

·       Energy

·       Healthcare Technologies

·       Horizontal Innovation

·       Information Technology

·       Intelligent Systems

·       Manufacturing Technology

·       Model-Based Engineering

·       Navigation and Surveillance Communications

·       Power

·       Start-up

·       Sustainability

·       Transport             

Each category of the Innovation Awards is independently judged by a panel of experts in that field, with the shortlist announced in late September. The winners will be revealed at a black tie dinner and ceremony on Wednesday 15th November 2017 at the Brewery in central London.

The 2017 IET Innovation Awards category sponsors are ABB, Altran, Boeing, Fraser Nash Consultancy, GCHQ, MathWorks, Mewburn Ellis, National Grid, Ricardo and WMG.

To find out more about the Innovation Awards, sponsorship opportunities or to submit an entry, please visit

The deadline for entries is Friday 7th July 2017.

Related Articles

Latest News

Rockwell Automation to launch ‘Best Future Machine Award’ at interpack 2017

Latest News

The hunt for Britain’s best young engineers is on

Latest News

Call for papers open for PEMD 2018 – Power Electronics, Machines and Drives conference